UNC professor nominates Kavanaugh accuser for distinguished-alumna award

Christine Blasey Ford

Ford with her attorney Debra Katz during testimony on September 27. Andrew Harnik-Pool Getty Images

Ho writes that the nomination is not about "partisan politics", but rather is "about recognizing that the simple act of speaking one's truth, especially if that truth involves sexual assault, is an act of bravery".

"We're just seeing the beginning here of the rehabilitation of Blasey Ford", said Limbaugh. The many indignities that women experience in their day-to-day lives is proof of this, as is the continued attacks on Dr. Blasey Ford after her testimony.

The letter was signed by Tarana Burke, the Bronx-based activist who founded the "Me Too" movement, photographer Amanda de Cadenet, activist Glennon Doyle, and actresses Tracee Ellis Ross, and America Ferrera.

Justice Brett Kavanaugh's accuser has been nominated by her alma mater for its distinguished alumna award for "speaking truth to power". Kavanaugh earned 50 votes in favor of his confirmation by Senate to 48 against on Saturday.

Ho also described Ford - a psychology professor at Palo Alto University in California - as showing "no evidence of avoidance or defensiveness" in her testimony and asserting to the Senate Judiciary Committee that "she is no one's pawn".

Instead, you'll find a website that links to resources for sexual assault survivors.

They told Ford, "you showed a world of discounted people what courage looks like ... you reminded us that we are neither powerless nor alone because we have truth - and we have each other".

"We live in a society that does not believe women", the professor said.

"Dr. Blasey Ford talked about how the first few years at Carolina were hard for her - that her attack at the age of fifteen had lasting implications", Ho wrote.

Ho said she wants to send the message that "UNC Chapel Hill believes survivors of sexual assault".

"I absolutely believe Dr. Ford's testimony before the Senate Judiciary Committee impacted individuals in the Northwestern community", Wake said. Up to five awards may be presented annually.

Latest News