ICC Announces Plan For World Test Championship, 13-Team ODI League

The Championship will involve nine teams who would contest for the top spot playing three home and three away series

The Championship will involve nine teams who would contest for the top spot playing three home and three away series

The two top-ranked sides progress to the final.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Future Tours Programme (FTP) for the much-talked about World Test Championship, that is scheduled to be played between 2019 and 2021, on Wednesday.

This also includes the World Test Championship and an ODI league comprising of 13 teams. The nine top-ranked sides in the world will compete in the new tournament, with each side playing six series on a home-and-away basis against mutually selected opponents in a two-year cycle.

Australia's domestic cricket season will start on September 16 and run until April, with some Test aspirants to have five Sheffield Shield rounds to prove they should be picked to face India.

During this time, the teams can play three matches in a series, ex - the ongoing England Australia series as a bilateral one and won't fall under the ODI League. The ICC gave its nod to the Test championship past year as part of measures to boost the flagging fortunes of the traditional five-day format beloved of purists but with often lacklustre spectator and television viewer numbers.

New Zealand's 2019-20 summer programme will also include two home Tests against the current No.1 seeds, India, and a home T20 series against Australia.

The Black Caps have tailored their schedule to match the requirements of the several major tournaments on the roster, namely the World Cups (50 overs) in 2019 and 2023, and the World T20s in 2020 and 2021.

The announcement came as Cricket Ireland released details of the Future Tours Programme (2018-2023), a schedule of global cricket tours for ICC's full members covering all three formats of the game.

However, not all matches will affect the Test Championship and the ODI League.

Melbourne aside, venues are yet to be confirmed for the Australian tour but, given it's a three-test series the Black Caps will likely grace the Sydney Cricket Ground for the traditional New Year test.

The Black Caps play Pakistan away in October-November of this year before returning home to host visits from Sri Lanka, India, and Bangladesh.

"Bringing context to bilateral cricket is not a new challenge, but with the release of this FTP, our Members have found a genuine solution that gives fans around the world the chance to engage regularly with worldwide cricket that has meaning and the possibility of a global title at the end", Richardson said in a statement.

This league will serve as a qualification pathway for the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup 2023. They will host as many as 102 games and barring Pakistan and Ireland, all Test playing nations will be touring the cricket insane country. Hosts India and the seven highest-ranked sides in the league on March 31, 2022, qualify directly for the World Cup.

Latest News