After a well-deserved break, when will Triple Crown victor Justify race again?

Jimmy Barnes assistant trainer to Bob Baffert with Justify on the Churchill Downs backstretch June 11

Jimmy Barnes assistant trainer to Bob Baffert with Justify on the Churchill Downs backstretch June 11 Coady

Crowned racing's 13th victor of the Triple Crown, the undefeated Justify returned to Churchill Downs's Barn 33 on Monday afternoon.

Justify is still the fastest horse on the planet, and could potentially win more prizes on the track at the Travers Stakes or even the Breeder's Cup later in the year.

Since 1990, there have been 10 instances where horses have won the first two of the three legs of the Triple Crown: Silver Charm in 1997, Real Quiet in 1998, Charismatic in 1999, War Emblem in 2002, Funny Cide in 2003, Smarty Jones in 2004, Big Brown in 2008, I'll Have Another in 2012 and California Chrome in 2014.

The horse is expected to make an appearance at Saturday's night racing event for the Stephen Foster Handicap at Churchill Downs where his owners will be presented with the engraved Kentucky Derby trophy.

The Derby is 1.25 miles in length.

'Who knows if he would have won the race anyway? The Scat Daddy colt is the latest among the 22 Kentucky Derby (G1) winners and 24 Preakness (G1) winners to graduate from Keeneland sales.

Jockey Mike Smith (bottom right) was overjoyed after crossing the finish line with a healthy lead.

The victor is covered by a blanket of black-eyed Susans. He stood so quietly in the starting gate that jockey Mike Smith wondered if he'd respond when it sprang open.

The Belmont Stakes Day card generated an all-sources handle of $137,954,895 - the second-highest in one day New York Racing Association History behind Belmont Stakes Day in 2014. Trainer Bob Baffert has now won two Triple Crowns in four years. He's the first Triple Crown victor to face that many rivals in the 1½-mile Belmont.

The victor of the race is given a blanket made of between 300-400 white carnations, the traditional flower of the Belmont Stakes.

Other Triple Crown winners include Sir Barton (1919), War Admiral (1937), Whirlaway (1941), Count Fleet (1943), Assault (1946), Citation (1948) and Secretariat (1973).

June 19, 1867 - The first Belmont Stakes takes place at Jerome Park in the Bronx, New York. All six of his wins have come in 2018, beginning with a maiden victory on February 18th at Santa Anita Park and culminating just shy of 16 weeks later in the Belmont. "He is a Triple Crown victor and he's undefeated", said Repole, emphasizing his admiration for the powerful, 6-for-6 colt.

Latest News