PM Narendra Modi rolls out healthcare and wellness scheme Ayushman Bharat Yojna

'Delighted': Prez Ram Nath Kovind congratulates Neeraj Chopra for winning India's first Javelin gold at CWG

India Needs Harmony Not War, Says President Ram Nath Kovind From Mhow on Ambedkar Jayanti

In a significant development that could cause considerable embarrassment to Prime Minister Narendra Modi ahead of his London trip next week, Indian students in United Kingdom have written to him asking him to first take action in rape cases. PM Modi said the Central government had in the last four years worked for "garib, Dalit, soshit, pidit, vanchit, pichde, mahilaon, aur adivasi (poor, Scheduled Castes, downtrodden, opressed, deprived, backward, women and Scheduled Tribes)".

"I would like to tell the youth on the path of violence that the Constitution takes care of your rights".

"I have chosen Bijapur district to launch Ayusma Bharat Yojana because the district, which is among the 115 backward districts identified to give extra push in development, has made rapid progress in just 100 days after the project was launched", the Prime Minister said and lauded the district administration for the feat. "They have come from outside (referring to Naxal leaders from other states who are active in Chhattisgarh)", he said. "Ironically they remained backward despite enormous natural resources available with them", Modi stated. But at least think about those who are leading them. "If the district administration, public representatives and the people join hands in a mass movement, unprecedented results can be achieved". "Each district faces its own challenges, and therefore, a different strategy is required in each case", he said. PM Modi inaugurated a new rail line and a passenger train.

The districts are Bijapur, Narayanpur, Bastar, Kanker, Kondagaon, Sukma and Dantewada. "Bastar is changing now". The symbolic gesture was welcomed by a loud applause.

The leaders who graced the occasion were Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh, Union Health Minister Jagat Prakash Nadda, Union Minister of State for Steel Vishnudeo Sai, Chhattisgarh Assembly Speaker Gaurishankar Agrawal, MP Dinesh Kashyap, Ministers Ajay Chandrakar, Brijmohan Agrawal, Kedar Kashyap, Punnulal Mohle, Prem Prakash Pandey, Rajesh Munat, Ramsheela Sahu, Ramsewak Paikra, Bhaiyyalal Rajwade, Mahesh Gagda, Dayaldas Baghel apart from BJP State President Dharamlal Kaushik and senior party office-bearers.

The lady was one of the thousands of women covered under the scheme launched more than a decade earlier to provide slippers to people engaged in collecting Tendu leaves in Chhattisgarh.

Latest News