Recently, Instagram launched a new feature on its platform known as Instagram Stories.
Those participating in the trial don't get a specific notification when someone takes a screenshot, but they can see a new camera shutter logo in the list of names of story viewers. Instagram will Now Notify Screenshot Alerts, if someone will take the screenshot of your stories. It has been pointed out by users that putting your phone in airplane mode (thus cutting off all connections) will let you take screenshots without the other user knowing, although it can be troublesome and you might forget. The move, which serves as a good news to privacy-conscious users, brings InstagramStories even more in line with Snapchat. Notably, users can rewatch stories as many times as they want within 24 hours, with the creator unable to see exactly how many times one person watched it. He/she will see a star-shaped icon next to their account handle in the Story Views section.
Instagram has acknowledged in a statement saying that, "we are always testing ways to improve the experience on Instagram and make it easier to share any moment with the people who matter to you".
TechCrunch noted that rolling out screenshot alerts would effectively align Instagram with Snapchat, with screenshots in a direct message causing a notification to be shown to the sender, while screenshots of stories are shown in the list of viewers. Anyone could take a screenshot of someone's photo or story without notifying the creator.
A primitive warning before taking the screenshot appears on the user's app when trying to click.
Apart from this, third-party applications, like Story Reposter, can also resort to pull off the screenshot trick. The irony here being, Instagram themselves seem to have copied (yet again!) Snapchat's feature that warns user when someone takes screenshot of their photos and videos.