Netflix users beware of email scam: Don't click that link

Police warn about Netflix scam going around

Netflix Users Warned To Beware Of Email Scam

We reported a few months back of a United Kingdom hoax targeting users for their banking information and now, the fraudulent emails have made their way across the pond.

The scam revolves around an email that claims a Netflix user's membership must be revalidated.

Police say the email is not a legitimate one from Netflix and account and identities could be compromised or fraudulently used if personal information is provided. They explained that a number of Netflix users have received a realistic-looking email saying their accounts have been deactivation because the company "could not validate their billing information".

"If you're unsure about a link in an email, you can always hover your cursor over the link to see where it directs in which you can see the real linked web address at the bottom of most browsers", the company says. If you would like to check the status of any account that you have online, police recommend going directly to the website and logging as you normally would. Also, if your Netflix is still running, that's a surefire way to know this is a scam. The email then prompts you to click on a link and enter your personal information, including credit card numbers. Legit businesses proofread their communications. If you get an email like this you are urged not to click the links.

Latest News