Eden Hazard voted into UEFA Fan's Team of the Year

Danehouse  Getty Images

Danehouse Getty Images

It is the pair's debut appearance in the line-up and they are the first Belgians to be voted into the Team of the Year while De Bruyne is the first City player to have made the XI.

Over 8.7 million of votes have been cast to decide UEFA's annual Team of the Year and the results have already caused huge debate among football fans.

Football enthusiasts from around the world voted to pick the stellar eleven with 2 players from the Premier League, two from the Serie A and one from the French Ligue 1.

Barcelona and Italian champions Juventus had a total of 5 nominees each, while Atletico Madrid and Manchester United have 4 players in the Team of the Year shortlist. Representatives of the UEFA.com Fans' Team of the Year will present the donation to the ICRC at an upcoming UEFA Champions League match. His team-mate Sergio Ramos received the most votes with 588,315.

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City): 52.2%.

But surprisingly, PSG's world record signing Neymar, who came third in the voting for the 2017 Ballon d'Or, misses out.

His former teammate Dani Alves is also selected, but Neymar - who left Barcelona for PSG in a world-record €222 million move in the summer - was not among the names to make the cut following nearly 8.8 million votes being cast.

Latest News