MLB Awards: Diamondbacks' Torey Lovullo named 2017 NL Manager of the Year

Diamondbacks Torey Lovullo wins NL Manager of Year

Norm Hall Getty Images Arizona Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo

After leading the Arizona Diamondbacks to the postseason in his first season at the helm, former UCLA baseball player Torey Lovullo was named 2017's National League Manager of the Year. Lovullo was part of a new direction in which the organization wanted to go. Roberts was one of five managers to receive first-place votes this year - Lovullo (18 first-place votes), Roberts (five), Black (three), Milwaukee's Craig Counsell (three) and Washington's Dusty Baker (one). Lovullo received 18 first-place votes, five second-place votes, and six third-place votes.

Lovullo wins the award as a first-year manager just as Roberts did following the 2016 season. He joins Bob Melvin (2007) and Kirk Gibson (2011) as the only Arizona managers to win the award.

Dave Roberts of the Dodgers was second and Colorado's Bud Black was third. They ended up losing to the Yankees in a brief playoff appearance.

Over on the American League side, Paul Molitor of the Twins was named 2017 AL Manager on the Year. It was the first time a team had lost 100 games and then reached the playoffs in the very next season.

Francona, who won the award past year, led the Indians to an AL-best 102-62 record and an American League record 22 wins in a row.

Molitor won the honor Tuesday in voting by members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Molitor and Frank Robinson are the only Hall of Fame players to win Manager of the Year Awards.

Roberts finished second with 5 first place votes, 8 second place votes and 6 third place votes.

Latest News