Mohammed Siraj & Shreyas Iyer get the nod for New Zealand T20s

India vs New Zealand T20 squad: Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj named in T20I squad

BCCI announces teams for T20s against Kiwis, Tests against Lanka

The national selectors rewarded Mumbai batsman Shreyas Iyer and Hyderabad fast bowler Mohammed Siraj for their consistent performances for India "A" by naming them in the India squad for the three-match T20 ODI series against New Zealand next month.

Prasad said Kohli's workload is being monitored.

There are no surprises in the Test squad with Abhinav Mukund making way for a fit-again first-choice opener Murali Vijay. He scored a double hundred earlier this year in a warm-up game against Australia along with a match-winning hundred in the final against South Africa A in the summit clash of an away tri-series. The 23-year-old right-armer followed that up with good displays in Indian Premier League 2017 for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

"Shreyas has been performing in T20s and first-class games. We will continue with him and nurture him", said Prasad. He will hang up his boots after the first T20I in New Delhi on November 1. However, whether Nehra will be included in the playing XI completely depends on the team management. Coming out to open the innings, Iyer smashed 439 runs in 14 matches before going on to bag the IPL emerging player of the Year award. This message very clearly communicated. "Instead of waiting for New Zealand series to get over, Nehra will quit after the Delhi game".

However, there were a few players who were unlucky to not make the cut and feature in what would Ashish Nehra's farewell series.

India T20I squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Mohammed Siraj.

Squad for first two Tests against Sri Lanka: Virat Kohli (Captain), Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma.

Latest News