Team for ODI series and T20 announced, Yuvraj Singh axed

India's Lokesh Rahul plays a shot during the first day's play of their third cricket test match against Sri Lanka in Pallekele Sri Lanka Saturday Aug. 12 2017

Sri Lanka vs India: BCCI announce squad for ODI series, Shardul Thakur earn call-up

Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah also expectedly return for the limited-overs series in Sri Lanka starting August 20, having been rested for the recent tour of the West Indies, as does KL Rahul who missed the Champions Trophy in June on account of injury. Pacer Shardul Thakur, who displayed tremendous show with the ball for Rising Pune Supergiant, has been rewarded for his performance. He made an impressive comeback, leading India A to a tri- series triumph in South Africa, with 307 runs. Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant, who were also part of the squad in that tour, have been left out as well. Senior Pro Jasprit Bumrah, who was rested for the series against the West Indies has also been included in the 15-man squad for the ODI and Twenty20 series.

India will play five ODIs and one T20 from August 20.

Rahul's inclusion means there will be four regular openers in the squad and it is likely that the Karnataka batsman will be playing in the middle order.

The same squad will represent India in the one-off T20I that follows the ODI series. The final of Champions Trophy exposed India's slow bowling frailties.

Former Indian skipper MS Dhoni, all-rounder Hardik Pandya, batsmen Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane and Shikhar Dhawan retain their place. The only T20I will be played on September 6. Of the 150 they have played, 83 went in favour of India while in Sri Lanka, they are marginally behind the hosts, winning 23 of the 57 matches played.

Latest News