Wimbledon 2017: Federer wins 8th title

Roger Federer Wimbledon 2017 final Roger Federer vs Marin Cilic Marin Cilic Wimbledon final sports, indian express

'Superhuman' Roger Federer eyes No 1 posse after Wimbledon win

The legendary Swiss tennis player Roger Federer for the first time since 2012, became the victor of Wimbledon. No chance to save the first set from Cilic was not - Federer on his serve and didn't lose any points, and in the ninth game and closed the party another break.

He was finally put out of his misery when the veteran sealed glory in style, firing down an ace to wrap up a 6-3 6-1 6-4 triumph after an hour and 41 minutes.

Cilic would loosen up himself a bit in the third set without any scoreboard pressure, and Federer understandably got a little less free as victory loomed.

He was magnificent, but we have to add that he had some help because the Croatian player was injured.

Partially because of his concerns about the inevitable passage of time and its effects on his body, Federer made a decision to skip the more physically demanding clay courts of the French Open to focus on Wimbledon.

Cilic is only the second Croatian man to reach the Wimbledon final after Goran Ivanisevic, his former coach, who swept to a memorable title victory in 2001. He defended the title for the next four years till 2007.

IST: Federer last won the grass-court major in 2012.

"That's what I did throughout all my career, I never gave up in a match", he said after.

Federer has 18 Grand Slam titles to his name, and he wants No. 19. People wouldn't believe me if I said that. "I have had an unbelievable journey here and have played the best tennis of my life".

3 - Federer becomes the new world number three, and with no points to defend in the rest of the year he is perfectly placed to climb to number one. Marin Cilic, however, remained at the sixth place.

On Sunday morning, #Roger Federer defeated#Marin Cilic in the 2017 #Wimbledon Final.

An eighth Wimbledon title moved Federer ahead of Pete Sampras and William Renshaw, who won their seventh crowns in 2000 and 1889 respectively.

Latest News