Polling for Presidential election begins in West Bengal Assembly

VP Election: 75% of electorate to vote are crorepatis, says report

Criminal record entitled with presidential poll 2017

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his Goa counterpart Manohar Parrikar are among 55 MPs who will vote in their state assemblies instead of Parliament House for the presidential election tomorrow, an Election Commission document says.

The value of votes of the MLAs and MPs of UP is the highest in the country.

The MLAs or MPs will not be allowed to take pen, pencil or mobile phones inside the polling area besides strict security arrangement would be in place during the elections. On July 23, a special farewell will be held in Parliament for President Pranab Mukherjee.

The special pen will be taken back once the member comes out of the voting chamber. According to media reports, the special numbered pens with violent ink are being used in the polls. The votes by 12 MLAs from the Congress and its allies were considered invalid because they had voted using personal pens and not the one that was officially provided by the poll staff.

The poll panel has also prepared special posters for dos and donts so as to "ensure peaceful poll".

The meetings have been convened to educate MLAs on casting their votes in the elections.

The Election Commission has appointed 33 observers to conduct the election. After polling, these ballot boxes will arrive in Delhi on Tuesday, and the votes will be counted on July 20. There are 543 Lok Sabha members, 233 Rajya Sabha members, and 4,120 MLAs from 29 States and two Union Territories.

As many as 3,460 members of parliament and members of legislative assemblies have declared assets worth more than Rs. 1 crore.

The presidential election is witnessing a fight between NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind and Opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

The ballot boxes would be sent to Chandigarh tomorrow morning and flown to Delhi, a Vidhan Sabha official said.

The BJP has the most MPs in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha and rules the most states.

Latest News