Moonlight's Andre Holland to Star in Hulu's Stephen King Series Castle Rock

Andre Holland

Moonlight's Andre Holland to Star in Hulu's Stephen King Series Castle Rock

Fans of American Horror Story or Cinemax's The Knick have gotten to know and love him, too.

"Castle Rock" reunites Hulu, King, Bad Robot, and Warner Bros., which previously collaborated on event series "11.22.63" based on King's same-named novel. The show sounds like it will be a greatest-hits of Stephen King mythology, as the eponymous town popping up in a lot of King's books and short stories, but we still don't know if it will literally feature storylines and characters from stuff like Cujo.

We do not know much about Castle Rock and we do not know much about who Holland will play in the series, but we do know this much: he'll take on the role of "Henry, a death row attorney with a unique and complicated history in the town". The series has been given a 10-episode first season order, and is described by the network as "an ongoing series".

Alright, so.unless I'm forgetting someone, that's not a Castle Rock citizen we're already familiar with. "Castle Rock is an original suspense/thriller- a first-of-its-kind reimagining that explores the themes and worlds uniting the entire King canon, while brushing up against some of his most iconic and beloved stories".

Outside of the Oscar-winning Barry Jenkins drama, Holland is also known for Sugar, 42, Selma, and the upcoming A Wrinkle in Time adaptation from Ava DuVernay.

Because come on. This is a Stephen King project we're talking about here.

No other cast has been announced yet, but the show will be written and Executive Produced by Sam Shaw and Dustin Thomason (who created the WGN show Manhattan, which is awesome, and also on Hulu if you haven't seen it yet).

Latest News